Longview Texas Tort Claims Act Attorney | Lawyers that Sue Longview or Texas

Longview Texas Tort Claims Act lawyers may pursue cases against state the Texas, the City of Longview or Gregg County, Texas. In order to accomplish this task, they must follow the rules set forth in the Texas Tort Claims Act.

Texas Tort Claims Act Longview Attorneys

Subchapter A. General Provisions

Subchapter B. Tort Liability of Governmental Units

Subchapter C. Exclusions and Exceptions

Subchapter D. Procedures

Section 15.03. Notice of claim.

The city shall not be held liable on account of any claim for the death of any person or injuries to any person or damage to any property unless the person making such complaint or claiming such damages shall, within six (6) months after the time at which it is claimed such damages were inflicted upon such person or property, file with the city a written statement under oath, stating the nature and character of such damages or injuries, the extent of the same, the place where same happened, the circumstances under which same happened and the conditions causing same, with a detailed statement of each item of damages and the amount thereof, and if it be for personal injuries, giving a list of any witnesses known by affiant to have seen the accident.

Annotations - The notice of claim provisions of the city Charter are subject to similar notice of claim provisions set out in the Texas Torts Claim Act, Chapter 101 of the Civil Practice and Remedies Code, at Section 101.101. State law allows a claimant six (6) months from the date of the incident giving rise to the claim to give notice of claim, rather than sixty (60) days stated in this section.

City Secretary's office for the City of Longview

City of Longview
300 W Cotton Street
Longview, TX 75601
(903) 237-1080


Please visit our Federal Tort Claims Act Lawyer page for an understanding of the difference between the state action and the federal action.

Longview attorneys that sue the City of Longview, or Gregg County or the state of Texas Serve

Clients throughout Central Texas, including Big Sandy, Clarksville City, Diana, East Mountain, Easton, Gladewater, Hallsville, Hawkins, Judson, Kilgore, Laird Hill, Lakeport, Leverett's Chapel, Liberty City, Nesbitt, Overton, Shiloh, Union Grove, Warren City, White Oak, and other communities in Gregg County and Harrison County.

For a FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION, call one of the qualified Gregg County personal injury lawyers listed on this site today.